My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic DVD details

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic DVD - The Frienship Express

The box art has been released for Shout Factory’s upcoming My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic DVD “The Friendship Express”. The DVD, set to be released on February 28th of next year, will feature 5 episodes. There is no indicator as to what episodes will be included, but “Over a Barrel” would be a good bet seeing as there’s a train on the cover. It is currently available for preorder from Amazon for $11.99.

This single disc of episodes comes as a disappointment to fans hoping for a full season box set, but such releases are not common for a show with such a young demographic. A Shout Factory employee discussed why there is no plan for a full season release at this time on their board. Bottom line is Shout Factory doesn’t see the fan community as being big enough to make a big dent in sales. For those that question this statement, how many of you picked up the Target Exclusive “Celebration at Canterlot” DVD?

UPDATE – 2012-12-16

A list of the episodes is now out. It’s the premier 2 parter, the kind of racist but funny episode about taking land from natives and two as of yet unaired episodes:

Friendship Is Magic, Part 1 (Mare In The Moon)
Friendship Is Magic, Part 2 (Elements Of Harmony)
Over A Barrel
Hearth’s Warming Eve
The Last Roundup

This entry was posted in My Little Pony and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *